UIUC GPA profile: campus, engineering and business ranges

UIUC publishes a 3.70–4.00 middle-50% GPA range for admitted students across its stated past-three-years window. Grainger Engineering’s range is 3.89–4.00; Gies Business’s is 3.82–4.00.

Campus GPA middle 50%

3.70–4.00

Past three years (exact cohort years not stated)

Student group
Admitted first-year students · Illinois Urbana-Champaign
Scale / measure
Weighting not specified beside the published GPA ranges

These are 25th–75th percentile ranges, not averages or minimums. The source does not identify this as a single 2026 cohort.

Illinois Admissions: Class ProfileCampus Middle 50% and Class Profile by College · Checked 2026-08-31

Grainger Engineering · middle 50%
3.89–4.00
Gies Business · middle 50%
3.82–4.00
Exploratory Studies · middle 50%
3.44–3.85

Same source, student group and reporting period as the profile above.

Use the college you intend to enter when comparing your preparation. A campus-wide range hides differences between Engineering, Business and Exploratory Studies; its midpoint is not a published average GPA.

The requirement, not a prediction

No single numeric cutoff is recorded in this snapshot. That does not imply that all grades are competitive or that there are no academic requirements.

Illinois: First-year requirements

How to use this information

  • Required preparation varies by major; some programs require additional mathematics.
  • Do not substitute Chicago or Springfield campus rules for UIUC.
  • A middle-50% range does not give your personal admission probability.

First-year, transfer and enrolled GPA are different

This page covers first-year admission. A university course calculator measures entered coursework after enrollment and must not be treated as a high-school admission recalculation. Keep the source’s scale and course set attached to any number you compare.

Already enrolled? Open the UIUC GPA Calculator for coursework →

UIUC transfer requirements are major-specific

Transfer applicants should use the Transfer Handbook and the separate college/major GPA guidance. For example, the current guidance lists 3.5 for Gies; Grainger recommends 3.5 or higher in both cumulative and technical coursework. These are transfer guidelines, not first-year cutoffs or admission guarantees.

Official source ↗

Check the current cycle before applying

Program, residency, course and document requirements can change. This is a dated source summary, not an admissions decision or institutional endorsement. Consult the official office for unusual records or exceptions.

Compare published requirements →